Production: What is the ROI of visual management?

Management visuel productionProduction and Engineering Managers face many challenges : Quality of goods produced, meeting objectives, problem solving on machines, team working, etc. Just like Mister Brave, your day is punctuated by challenges and ‘calls for help’ from your team. And senior managers have embarked upon a strategic change towards Industry 4.0, bringing new ways of managing production and complexity to a just-in-time environment. And what if visual management could help you face the challenges of adapting to future manufacturing standards? Let’s look at some of the answers together.

A need for visibility in production

Management visuel productionAll production lines and numerous operators work to attain the objectives defined. However, they may feel a certain lack of visibility in the face of unforeseen production incidents. What is the problem? Where does it come from? How long has it been going on? It is difficult to answer these questions without detailed logs or visibility of the data.

Paper visual management offers a solution to these problems. Notice boards displays provide the same level of information to all staff. However, it is difficult to keep paper displays up to date when the volume of production increases significantly: The task becomes very time-consuming. This is why some companies have chosen to digitalise their notice board displays.

Visual management, production accelerator

Management visuel productionThe question of return on investment (ROI) arises when a company invests in a digital visual management solution. What could be the benefits? The answer is simple: An immediate gain in productivity. All those who have adopted visual management have made the same observation. But is this improvement quantifiable?

Nicolas Clisson and François Robic, respectively Production Manager and Production Engineering Manager at the Atlantic Navalyard (Chantiers de l’Atlantique (CDA)) both confided in us: ‘When we implemented the Pingview solution from PingFlow, we set an objective of a 4% gain in productivity. Today we estimate that the gain in real terms is between 4% and 10%. Our job is to produce cabins for boats and ships. Thanks to the Yo-i-don method and the resulting new management methods, our operators now produce more cabins in less time. To their great delight, we eliminated the need to work overtime.

Management above all

Management visuel productionNew management methods follow naturally from improved visibility. Operators, team leaders, production and engineering managers: all work practices change, leading to a more serene atmosphere in our factories.

Increased visibility has really changed the attitudes of our factory teams. Now, everyone has access to the same information, which has instilled a feeling of equality between all operators. They feel more responsible for their work and can now analyse production incidents independently. This change has clearly allowed team leaders to change their roles. They are no longer there just to check up on others (a role which is never particularly welcome whether being checked or for the checker). Their role is now much more to support operators. Relationships have changed for the better, bringing about teams which work together more closely. With these sort of changes, my daily work as production manager goes much more smoothly.

Link to download the Success Case CDA

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Production : quel est le ROI du management visuel ?

Management visuel productionEn tant que Responsable de Production ou Responsable Méthodes, vos défis sont multiples : qualité des biens produits, respect des objectifs, résolution des problèmes sur les machines, cohésion d’équipes, etc. Comme pour Monsieur Courageux, votre quotidien est donc ponctué par les challenges et les “appels au secours” de vos équipes. De surcroît, la volonté de vos dirigeants d’initier une démarche d’Industrie 4.0 vient ajouter de nouvelles manières de gérer votre production et quelquefois de la complexité dans un environnement en flux tendu. Et si le management visuel pouvait vous aider dans vos challenges tout en initiant l’Industrie du futur ? Examinons quelques éléments de réponses ensemble.

Un besoin de visibilité en production

Management visuel productionDans votre usine, toutes les lignes de production et les nombreux opérateurs s’animent dans le but d’atteindre les objectifs définis. Seulement, face aux aléas de production, le manque de visibilité se fait sentir. Quel est le problème ?  D’où vient-il ? Depuis combien de temps dure-t-il ?  Sans historique, ni visibilité, difficile de répondre à toutes ces questions.

Face à ces problématiques, le management visuel papier se présente comme une réelle solution. Les panneaux d’affichage offrent le même niveau d’information à tous les opérateurs. Cependant, quand la cadence de production s’intensifie, difficile de garder à jour un affichage papier : la tâche devient chronophage. C’est pourquoi certaines entreprises choisissent de digitaliser leurs panneaux d’affichage.

Le management visuel, booster de productivité

Management visuel productionLorsque les entreprises investissent dans une solution de management visuel digital, la question du retour sur investissement (ROI) se pose. Qu’est-ce que cela va vous rapporter ? La réponse est simple : un gain immédiat de productivité. En effet, tous ceux qui l’ont adoptés l’ont constaté. Mais ce gain est-il être quantifiable ?

Nicolas Clisson et François Robic, respectivement Responsable de production et Responsable Industrialisation et Méthodes au sein des Chantiers de l’Atlantique (CDA) nous confient : “Lors de la mise en place de la solution PingView de Pingflow, nous avons défini un objectif de gain de productivité de 4 %. Nous estimons aujourd’hui que le gain réel se situerait plus à 5 %. Notre métier est de produire des cabines pour les bateaux. Grâce au système Yo-i-don et au nouveau mode de management qui en a découlé, nos opérateurs réalisent aujourd’hui plus de cabines en moins de temps. Nous avons donc supprimé leurs heures supplémentaires pour leur plus grand bonheur.”

Du management avant tout

Management visuel productionUne bonne visibilité s’accompagne naturellement d’une évolution du management pratiqué. Opérateurs, chef d’équipes, responsables production et méthodes… Toutes les manières de travailler vont changer pour laisser place à une ambiance plus sereine dans les usines.

“La visibilité a vraiment fait évoluer les réactions des collaborateurs dans l’usine. Désormais, tout le monde a accès aux mêmes informations, ce qui a instauré un sentiment d’égalité entre tous les opérateurs. Ainsi ils sont plus responsables et peuvent analyser eux-mêmes les différents aléas de production. Ce phénomène a clairement permis aux chefs d’équipe de changer de casquette. Ils n’ont plus un rôle de vérification (rôle qui n’est jamais agréable pour la personne qui est contrôlée tout comme pour celle qui contrôle) mais de support des opérateurs. Les relations se sont donc assainies pour amener plus d’entraide. Avec de tels changements, mon quotidien de responsable production est forcément plus serein.”

Lien vers le Success Case CDA

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *